NBA All-Star Game Most Valuable Player Award

The National Basketball Association All-Star Game Most Valuable Player (MVP) is an annual National Basketball Association (NBA) award given to the Participant (s) voted best of the Yearly All-Star Game.

The award was created in 1953 when NBA officials decided to designate an MVP for each calendar year’s game. The team players. Ed Macauley and Paul Arizin were selected as the 1951 and 1952 MVP winners respectively. The voting is conducted by a panel of media members, who throw their vote following the conclusion of the game. The participant (s) together with the most votes or ties to the most votes wins the award. No All-Star Game MVP was named in 1999 since the game was canceled due to the league’s lockout. As of 2019, the latest recipient is Golden State Warrior forward Kevin Durant.
Bob Pettit and Kobe Bryant are the only two players to acquire the All-Star Game MVP four times. Oscar Robertson, Michael Jordan, Shaquille O’Neal, and LeBron James have each won the award three times, while Bob Cousy, Julius Erving, Isiah Thomas, Magic Johnson, Karl Malone, Allen Iverson, Russell Westbrook, along with Kevin Durant have all won the award twice. James’ first All-Star MVP in 2006 left him the youngest to have ever won the award in age 21 years, 1 month. Kyrie Irving, winner of the 2014 All-Star Game MVP, is the second-youngest at 21 years, 10 months. They are notable as being the two youngest to win the award, both as Cleveland Cavaliers. Four of those matches had joint winners–Elgin Baylor and Pettit at 1959, John Stockton and Malone at 1993, O’Neal and Tim Duncan at 2000, and O’Neal and Bryant at 2009. O’Neal became the first participant in playoff history to share two MVP awards in addition to the first player to win the award with multiple teams. The Los Angeles Lakers have had eleven winners while the Boston Celtics have had eight. Duncan of the U.S. Virgin Islands and Irving of Australia will be the sole winners not born in the United States. Both Duncan and Irving[a] are American taxpayers, but are considered”global” players by the NBA since they were not born in one of the fifty states or Washington, D.C. No player trained entirely beyond the U.S. has won the award; Irving lived in the U.S. since age two, and Duncan played with U.S. school basketball at Wake Forest.
Bob Pettit (1958, 1959) and Russell Westbrook (2015, 2016) are the only players to win successive awards. Pettit (1956), Bob Cousy (1957), Wilt Chamberlain (1960), Bill Russell (1963), Oscar Robertson (1964), Willis Reed (1970), Dave Cowens (1973), Michael Jordan (1988, 1996, 1998), Magic Johnson (1990), Shaquille O’Neal (2000), along with Allen Iverson (2001) all won the All-Star Game MVP along with the NBA Most Valuable Player Award in precisely the exact same season; Jordan is the only player to do so multiple times. [7] 14 players have won the award playing for the team which hosted the All-Star Game: Macauley (1951), Cousy (1957), Pettit (1958, 1962), Chamberlain (1960), Adrian Smith (1966), Rick Barry (1967), Jerry West (1972), Tom Chambers (1987), Michael Jordan (1988), Karl Malone (1993), John Stockton (1993), O’Neal (2004, 2009), Bryant (2011) and Davis (2017); Pettit and O’Neal did this multiple times. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar has the distinction of playing at the most All-Star Games (18) without winning the All-Star Game MVP, while Adrian Smith won the MVP in his only All-Star Game.

Read more:

Trả lời

Email của bạn sẽ không được hiển thị công khai. Các trường bắt buộc được đánh dấu *

Hotline: 0986.32.9999
Chat Facebook
Gọi điện ngay